Liebster Award

img_5783

With the start of 2017 comes many new things, and I’m excited to announce that I have been nominated for The Liebster Award. What a way to start 2017! I didn’t know what to expect when I started my blog just 3 months ago, but it sure does feel good to be recognized in the blogging world!

For those that don’t know The Liebster Award, is one given to bloggers, by other bloggers as recognition for their blogs! Once you’ve received an award you pass it on and nominate 5 more blogs that you think deserve it! The blog that nominates you poses 11 questions for you to respond to and then you pose another 11 for your nominees! Thank you to Pages of My Passport for my nomination!

Here are my questions and answers:
1. What is the first foreign country you ever visited? I was born and raised in the tropics, in the beautiful Trinidad and Tobago. When I was not even a year old my first international trip was to the homeland – aka where all my family originated from – Venezuela.

2. If you could go back to one place, where would it be? This is a tough one, there are so many places I would love to revisit. At the top of my head I think I would go back to Italy first, we were there for just 3 days but we only had time to see Rome. There are so many other cities in Italy I would love to see – Venice, Florence, Milan, and the list goes on.

3. Do you prefer slow travel (taking your time in fewer places) or fast travel (visiting many places but with less time in each one) and why? I think there are benefits to both types of traveling. As a broke college student, my wallet prefers that I fast travel so I can see as many places as possible but I would love to have the luxury to slice travel. There is something so romantic in the idea of just going somewhere new and immersing yourself in a new culture for a month at a time, and truly becoming one of the locals!

4. What is a unique food you have eaten abroad? When we were in Hungary, I had these delicious traditional crepes. Not your typical sweet, Nutella filled crepes, but rather savory, chicken-filled crepes. Slathered with a red tomato like sauce and a dollop of sour cream, mmm.

5. Do you travel alone, with others, or a mix of both? I’ve never done a solo trip, and while I have heard many good things about it I think the closest I will ever get to it will be adventures with JUST James and I. I mean – I want to see the world and have these amazing experiences with him, so that’s fine by me. We have traveled with friends as well and that can be a lot of fun, but there are pros to just traveling by ourselves.

6. What are 3 things that you miss from “home” when you are traveling?

– Data. There is nothing like having the ability to google something when you’re lost, but realize you can’t because you’re on airplane mode.

-My Bed. Oh my god, I have this lovely Tempurpedic foam mattress top that my parents got me a few Christmases ago and no hostel bed or airport bench can compare to.

– A job. Okay, I know this one sounds weird but hear me out, having a steady flow of income is nice. When you’re traveling for a bit and have no income, and only expenses, it gets hard.

7. What new country would you most like to visit? I really want to visit Iceland. I would love to visit at a time when the Northern Lights are visible!

8. Do you have any unique hobbies? Does eating a meal meant for a large family by myself count? Just kidding. As much as I hate general exercise – or even general activity as James sometimes likes to say, I do love exploring the outdoor and just taking walks in new places.

9. What is your favorite form of transportation? (Plane, Train, Hitchhiking, Bike, etc…) I think I often fly solely because of the quickness of it, especially when doing the fast traveling. However actual enjoyment I think I prefer train rides the most because you can see an entire country just by looking out the window.

10. Who/what inspired you to first begin traveling? Well, I’ve always traveled here and there growing up, but my real passion for it kicked in when I studied in England for 5 months. It was so much cheaper to travel Europe once we were in England so why not? It’s so different traveling every weekend as opposed to once a year for a family vacation.

11. What is one tip that you would give to a brand-new traveler, that you wish you would have known when you started out? I think the biggest tip I have is probably the most abstract. Have an open mind and appreciate every moment you can. It flies by and you’ll miss it when you’re gone.

My nominations for the Liebster award are:

My questions for you are:

  1. What made you decide to start a blog?
  2. What is one city you won’t revisit and why?
  3. If you won a free trip to anywhere, where would you go?
  4. The favorite dessert you’ve tried and from what country?
  5. What are 3 tips you have for new travel bloggers?
  6. What is the biggest mistake you made when you started traveling?
  7. What is one thing you wish people told you before you started traveling?
  8. Have you ever had any issues in customs?
  9. What’s one funny story from one of your trips?
  10. If you could travel with one person, alive or dead who would it be?
  11. How do you prepare yourself prior to visiting a new city?

** Don’t forget to nominate 5 blogs of your own and pose 11 questions to them! **

 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. nice! I can relate very much to question 7 .. would love to go to Iceland; i think before not seeing the Northern Lights with my own eyes, I can’t believe that they really exist.. but there is a hype going on these days, isn’t it? a year ago, or 2, I have not seen them on social media almost at all and now they are everywhere 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. totally… I just checked yesterday for planes to iceland … but it doesn’t seem to be that easy as I thought; best to see them in Winter, but most roads in the north seem to be closed .. also: I have no gear at all ^^ 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

